TalentLMS lets you switch between annual plans at any point during your annual billing cycle, when your subscription payment method is credit card.
What happens when you upgrade:
When upgrading to a higher annual plan, you will be immediately charged the price difference for the remaining subscription period, as the billing cycle remains the same. The charges are calculated based on the number of days remaining in the previous plan and the number of days remaining in the new one. When upgrading, a new invoice is issued.
What happens when you downgrade:
If moving to a lower subscription plan, the calculation formula is the same as when upgrading. Since you’re moving to a lower-priced tier, the fee for the new plan is already settled. Therefore, an invoice is not issued. The remaining amount is left in your account for future payments.
All these adjustments are shown on the upcoming invoice as separate items so you can see what has been applied.
Here’s a quick example:
If you initially signed up on the 10th of the month for the Starter Annual plan based on registered users for $69/month, you would be charged $828 ($69/month for 12 months).
If 3 months later you upgrade to the Basic Annual plan for $1341 ($149/month for 9 months) then the calculation would be as follows:
$1341 - $621* = $720
(*time already used on the Starter Annual plan: $69x3= $207, so the remaining amount would be $828-$207= $621 that will be deducted from the new annual fee)
The next annual renewal would occur based on the plan you are already registered for, the Basic Annual, and you would pay $1788 (12*$149) in a one-time fee.
Other Active annual plan charges
Active plans have soft limits applied to them (i.e., even when you reach your account limit, the system does not prevent users from logging in). If during a billing cycle, you go over your active users limit, you’re charged the extra usage on a monthly basis. So, an additional invoice will be issued each month you are over the limit.
When you cancel your subscription at any point during your annual billing cycle, your TalentLMS portal remains active until the end of the billing cycle.