TalentLMS lets you limit the maximum number of users that can register to a course. When creating or editing a course, you’re able to adjust the course capacity to restrict the number of users that can enroll in the course.
To set the course capacity:
1. Sign in to your TalentLMS account as Administrator and go to Home > Courses (1).
2. Go to the page of the course you want to modify and click Capacity (2). Add the number of users you want to have at most in the course.
3. Click Update course (3) to save the capacity changes.
|Note: Instructors and deactivated users do not count towards the course’s capacity.|
To see the number of users enrolled in the course at any given time, click Capacity and hover over the field to reveal Currently enrolled users (1).
What happens when course capacity is reached?
When course capacity is reached, the course is hidden automatically from the course catalog. Instructors can still enroll users in the course manually.
- Once a course is hidden automatically from the course catalog and Instructors make the course available in the catalog again, users can continue to self-enroll in the course, regardless of the capacity. If capacity is reached again, the course will not be hidden automatically but continue to appear in the course catalog.
- Once a course is hidden automatically from the course catalog and Instructors reduce the number of enrolled users below the capacity, the course will not change status and will remain hidden. Once Instructors make the course available on the catalog again and the number of enrolled users reaches capacity again, the course will be automatically hidden from the catalog once more.
How does course capacity work in Groups or Branches?
When a course is part of a Group and its capacity is reached and then automatically hidden from the catalog, a user who joins the Group using a Group key will still be able to enroll in the course.
In the event that a course is part of two branches at the same time, Administrators and Instructors in each branch will only see the number of branch members enrolled in the course. They will not see the number of total enrolments in the course.
|Note: Administrators performing a mass user import or enrollment that would exceed the course’s capacity will still be able to successfully enroll the users, resulting in hiding the course from the catalog automatically.|