In TalentLMS, you can organize your users into groups and branches according to your needs.
To learn more about groups and branches, as well as their differences, see this article.
The system also allows you to combine the two features by having groups within branches. Making a group part of a branch allows branch administrators to manage that group, including adding users, courses, and Learning Paths. This option would otherwise not be available for branch Administrators
A. Assigning groups to branches from the main domain:
1. Log in as an Administrator and create your group.
2. Once the group is created, click the Info (1) tab. The Branch (2) option is now available.
3. From the drop-down menu, select the branch (3) this group will be assigned to.
4. Click Save (4) to apply your changes.
Returning to the previous page, you can see the total list of groups you have in your portal. You can also identify which groups are assigned to which branches via the label with the branch name (5) next to each group.
| Note: If you need to unassign a group from a branch, click the Branch option followed by the select branch option from the drop-down menu. Click Update group to save your changes. |
B. Branches and default groups:
If you have organized your training audience in different branches, TalentLMS lets you save time and effort by assigning a set of courses to all branch members at once using the branch default group.
1. Log in as an Administrator and go to Home > Branches (1).
2. Click to Edit (2) a branch or create a new one (3).
3. Switch to the Info (4) tab and scroll down to the Users (4) section. On the Default group (5) option, click Select a group (6) for the drop-down menu to appear.
4. Select the group you want to assign as the default group of the branch.
5. Click Save (7) to apply your changes.
Moving forward, each user created in the relevant branch will be added to the respective default group and enrolled in the group courses, provided that the courses are also assigned to the same branch.
|
Notes:
|
C. Creating groups within the branch:
Apart from assigning existing groups to your branches, you can also create a group from scratch within a branch directly.
1. Log in as an Administrator and switch to a branch.
2. Go to Home > Groups (1) and click Add group (2).
3. Type a Name (3) and a Description (4) for your group.
4. Add a Price (5) if you are selling courses in bundles or create a Group key (6) if you want users to self-register for a set of courses.
| Note: If you'd like users added to this Group to be automatically enrolled in its training, enable Auto-enroll users to training. |
5. Click Save (7) to apply your changes.
6. After the new group has been added, you’re automatically taken to the Users tab on the group page. To add a user to your group, click Add user (8).
7. In the following drawer, search for the users you want to add to the group and click Enroll (9).
| Note: If you have sent a group key to the users you want in the group, there’s no need to add them manually. |
8. Go to the Courses tab to choose which courses the group members can access. To assign a course to your group, click Add course (10).
9. In the following drawer, search for the courses you want to add to the group and click Add (11).
10. Go to the Learning paths tab to assign Learning Paths to your group. Click Add learning path (12), search for the Learning Path you want, and click add it to the group.
11. Return to the Users tab to assign the selected courses to group members.
- To assign all courses to a specific user, hover over the respective user and click Add all remaining group courses to user (13).
- To remove all group courses from a specific user, hover over the respective user and click Remove all group courses from user.
| Note: Group members aren't automatically enrolled in the Group's training when they're added manually by an Administrator or Instructor, even if the Group already contains courses or Learning Paths. To enroll existing members, use the available actions in the Users tab. |
To enroll or unenroll all Group members in the Group's training at once, click Mass actions (14) and choose the appropriate option.
| Note: When users are unenrolled from a group’s Learning Path, they're also unenrolled from all courses included in that Learning Path. Their course progress and completion history are preserved, so if they're enrolled again later, they'll continue from where they left off. |