TalentLMS lets you organize your users and training in Groups, making it easy to assign courses and Learning Paths to multiple users at once.
A Group can contain users, courses, Learning Paths, or any combination of the three, making it ideal for onboarding, compliance training, departments, teams, or role-based learning.
To create your first group, follow these steps:
1. Sign in to your TalentLMS account as an Administrator and go to Groups (1).
2. Click Add group (2).
| Note: Instructors can also create groups from their dashboard. Administrators can see all groups. Instructors are able to see groups that they own. |
3. Type a distinct Name (3) (e.g., Startup courses) and a Description (4) for your new group.
4. If you want to sell training associated with the group as a bundle, click Price (5) and type your preferred amount.
| Note: When you set a price for the group’s courses, they are automatically listed in the Bundles section of the course catalog. |
5. If you want users to be able to register themselves to the group, simply check the Assign group key (6) checkbox, to generate a self-registration key. Then, share the Group key with your users along with simple instructions on how to self-register (you’ll find instructions later in this article).
| Note: You can replace the generated key by typing your own key in the Group key field. |
6. If you'd like users to be automatically enrolled in the Group's assigned training as soon as they're added to the Group, enable Auto-enroll users to training (7). By default this is not enabled.
7. Click Save (8) to complete the process.
How to add users to your group
After the new group has been added, you’re automatically taken to the Users (1) tab of your group. Here, you can add users as members and see and manage every member of the group.
1. Click the Add user (2) button to open the related drawer. This will show a list of all your users. The list can be filtered by branch.
2. Click the Enroll (3) icon next to a user to add the user to the group.
| Note: You can add more users to your group at any time by clicking the Enroll user (4). |
How to add courses to a group
1. Go to the Courses (1) tab to choose which courses you’d like to add to the group. From this tab, you’ll be able to see and manage your group courses.
2. Click the Add course (2) button to open the related drawer. This will show a list of all your courses.
3. Click the Add to group (3) icon next to a course to add the course to the group.
| Note: You can add more courses to your group at any time by clicking the Add course (4) button. Newly added courses aren't automatically assigned to existing Group members. To enroll existing members use the Users tab and the available enrollment actions. |
How to add Learning Paths to a Group
1. Open the Learning paths (1) tab
2. Click Add learning path (2)
3. Click Add to group (3) next to the Learning path you want.
| Note: When you add a Learning Path to a Group, all courses included in that Learning Path are also associated with the Group. |
How to assign group training to group members
Return to the Users tab of the group to assign the selected courses/Learning paths to group members.
When a new course or Learning Path is added, users in the group are not automatically enrolled in that new training material, even if the ‘Auto-enroll users to training’ option is enabled.
This accounts for several use cases where it would not be desirable for courses to be automatically assigned. In those instances, enrollments require an extra action. However, the good news is that you can do it en masse - no need to enroll each user one by one.
- To assign all group training to a specific group member, hover over the user and click the Add all remaining group training material to user (1) icon that will appear next to the user.
- To assign the training to all group members at once, click Mass actions and choose Enroll users in group learning paths (2), depending on what you wish to assign.
|
Notes:
|
How to activate the Group key for Learners
For users to be able to use the Group key, the relevant permission has to be active for their User type (e.g., Learner-Type). To activate it:
1. Go to Account & Settings > User types (1) and click the edit (2) symbol that will appear next to the User type you wish to update when you hover over it, e.g. Learner-Type.
2. On the multi-level nested list, under the Learner tree, click Course catalog to expand its respective permissions. If the Group key (3) permission isn’t activated, check it.
3. Click Save (4), and you’re all set. Your users can now join a group by using the Group key.
How can Learners join a group with a Group key
To use the Group key, a user has to:
1. Sign in to their TalentLMS account and hover over their name (1).
2. Select My groups (2), and a new window will open.
3. Click the Join group (3) button and Enter the Group key (4) in the relevant field.
4. Select Join group (5) to complete the action and get automatically enrolled in all training assigned to the Group, including its courses and Learning Paths. The assigned training will appear on the learner's dashboard.
What is a Group owner, and how to change the ownership of a group?
When an Administrator or an Instructor creates a new group, they become the owner of that group automatically. As mentioned earlier, Administrators are able to see every group in the portal, but Instructors are only able to see groups that they own. A user doesn’t need to be a member of a group to become its Group owner when the group is first created. However, you can only transfer the ownership of a group to a user who is a member of the group. To change the Group owner:
1. Go to Groups and open the group you wish to update.
2. Under the Users tab, hover over the user you wish to make the new group owner and click the Make user group owner (1) icon that will appear next to the user. Only Administrators and Instructors can become Group owners.